Former Sectoral Regulators

The former sectoral regulators which the FSA has replaced are:

  • Securities and Investments Board (SIB);

  • Personal Investment Authority (PIA);

  • Investment Management Regulatory Organisation (IMRO);

  • Securities and Futures Authority (SFA);

  • Building Societies Commission;

  • Friendly Societies Commission;

  • Registry of Friendly Societies;

  • Supervision and Surveillance Division of the Bank of England;

  • HM Treasury (formerly DTI) Insurance Division; and

  • UK Listing Authority, which was formerly part of the London Stock Exchange.